This morning I cast my heart into the flames
and licked my lips as the embers curled
I saw visions of childhood ideals in the smoke
matching scarves and a brick paved road
That night I was visited by a specter
and the phantom pain throbbed so lucidly
It dissipated into the eye of the twilight
before I could ask about its borrowed face
Now every day is waking up to a crawling numbness
because all emotion has evacuated
I play the notes but the harmony’s in disarray
like the solitary strands of hair in your favorite brush
still ruminating atop my bedroom dresser

Leave a Reply

